Guide: Hard Reset iPad to Factory Settings

More videos

How to hard reset your iPad to Factory Settings

If you want to sell or give away your iPad, it is very useful to know how to wipe your iPad clean, so none of your personal data remains on the iPad.

There are two options you can choose from:

1. Just reset all settings (but keep personal data)

2. Reset all settings and wipe all data and apps

Resetting the iPad is very easy: Just tap on the settings button, which brings you to the “general settings” screen. Now you scroll all the way to the bottom, where you will find a button called “Reset iPad”. Tap that and you will be given several choices. To reset the iPad, only the first two choices are useful for us.

The first button called “Reset All Settings” will reset your settings, but it will not delete all your data. This is helpful if you want to start over with your iPad and want to setup your Email adress and add new apps.

The second option called “Erase All Content and Settings” is the one you would want to choose when you want to wipe your iPad completely clean from everything, basically to hard reset your iPad to factory settings. If you tap this button, you will have to confirm your decision twice. This is to make sure you do not reset your iPad by accident. After tapping on “Erase” twice your iPad will start to wipe itself and switch off.

Your iPad will now be in the same state as the day you started to use it for the first time. Just turn it on again and you will see it ready to be set up from the very beginning, just like you did the first time.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>